To be the Queen of Chaos, you have to be a little warped.

Mr. Sandman – WTF?!

Today I’m getting inspired by Mushroom Printing, a site created by the lovely blogger Aunt Becky at Mommy Wants Vodka, who is also the brains behind Band Back Together, a fantastic group blog that you should totally check out.

Mushroom Printing is inviting any and all bloggers to participate in WTF Wednesday, which is basically an excuse to have a good rant!  (And lord knows I could rant for days…)  Enjoy!

Sleep is one of those fundamental human necessities, right up there with eating and breathing.  One could argue that it is almost an unconscious act – if we stay awake long enough, sooner or later our bodies will most likely rebel and force sleep upon us.  That said, you’d think that sleeping would come naturally and effortlessly, just like blinking, or the beating of the heart.

Not so much.  At least for me.

This is NOT because I am one of those incredible superheroes people who can actually function optimally on 3 hours of sleep a night.  If I get less than 7 hours, I’m a train wreck.  I’m exhausted during the day, I’m moody, cranky, and edgy, I’m unmotivated, and I wind up craving sugar and caffeine to keep my eyes open.

And yet, I take forever to fall asleep, the slightest noise wakes me up, I regularly wake up at night for no reason at all (see taking forever to fall asleep), and I often wake up earlier than necessary.  When I fall asleep, I often have convoluted dreams that leave me feeling as though my brain has been running on autopilot rather than resting.  When I know I should rest, I get crazy second winds that make it impossible.  When I get desperate for a nap, it is usually a time when I can’t take one.

And forget it if I’m sick.  Whoever first said, “Drink fluids and get plenty of rest,” was a cruel bastard.  Yes, I would love to be getting rest – but the fact that I can’t breathe through my nose and it feels like a gorilla is sitting on my head seems to be interfering with that!  Guess I’ll just have to go have another glass of OJ at 3 am and hope for the best.

WTF, Sleep?

Image from asleepeasy.com

Sleeping should be human nature, shouldn’t it?  WTF?!

Comments on: "Mr. Sandman – WTF?!" (2)

  1. Wow, makes me grateful I can sleep in english class without the professor knowing. Which probably makes you want to kick me in the taco, which is a rant for another day. (((Hugs)))

  2. Every little noise used to wake me up too. So I have an ipod touch and speakers to plug it in and I use the app ambiance for the sound of rain. Now my brain has gotten used to the rain sound and I will naturally fall asleep with it now. If there are little noises it doesn’t matter anymore because my brain thinks “oouuuh the raiiiin”.

    Maybe you should try something like that (it could be a fan or a buzzing sound).

Leave a Reply

